Currently reading…

I am so excited to announce that I have just started reading the famous Leigh Bardugo duology, Six of Crows! I know I’m super late on the whole bandwagon thing but — a good book is a good book whenever you choose to read it, at least in my opinion.

Life has been hectic so I haven’t been reading or writing as much as I used to. I want to change that and make an active effort to read and write more regularly. They always go hand in hand for me, if I’m not writing often it’s usually because I’m not reading as much as I should. I don’t want to make excuses but instead, challenge myself to take free moments to read. Y’all know how much I love a good YA fantasy so no better way to dive back in than with the famed Six of Crows duology. I’ve only heard good things and I’m excited to read it for myself.

My TBR is overflowing but if you have any suggestions for books to read. Comment below! I’d love to hear what you’ve been reading and why you liked it.

Advertisements

Good News!

I have long overdue good news to share with you guys. I have been interning for Writers House since October and the great news is that I have just been hired part-time as an assistant at another literary agency, Chalberg & Sussman! I’m so excited! The last two years have been really hard, probably the hardest years of my life. I’ve been on an uphill battle that I could go on and on about if I truly wanted but that’s not what this post is about. This post is about how things are starting to take a turn for the better. Since August, things have just been working in my favor from serving as a counselor at Wricampia, getting accepted into the Writers House internship out of 1200 applicants, and now getting this part-time job!? I’m ecstatic, I can’t even begin to explain it.

I’ve always been a book reader and writer. It never occurred to me that these were plausible avenues to find employment. It wasn’t until my senior year of college that I realized that I wanted to get into the publishing industry. I went to the Columbia Publishing Course, I went on interviews and I did everything “right” or so I thought. It was partly about what I was doing but also about timing, not mine but God’s. A lot of those opportunities that I “desperately” wanted would not have allowed me to do what I’m doing now. Who is even to say that I would’ve been happy with all those jobs I missed out on? I was just desperate for a job – I still am but I have more faith that the right job for me will be apparent. I still get anxious since my parents are financing the majority of my expenses. Ideally, I want to be self-sufficient but there is plenty of time for that. I just really want to bask in the achievements I have made thus far. It’s so easy to forget to count your blessings and fixate on the things you still want or that are missing. I want to bask in this moment, to let the fact that I am living in New York (basically full-time), working 5 days a week, commuting and getting acclimated into the publishing industry settle into my mind. I just want to realize that all those dreams I had of working in the city, having fun, and being surrounded by intelligent like-minded individuals are coming to fruition.

I think dreams coming into reality are equal parts exciting and terrifying. Exciting for obvious reasons but terrifying because it feels too good to be true. It makes you question things like what if the dream you have had forever doesn’t turn out to be what you thought it would be? Well, I think not taking the risk is scarier than taking it.

A Poem.

I have previously mentioned that I am tip-toeing into the world of poetry. I’ve always been fascinated by the moving capabilities of spoken word and poetry. Some are more simplistic and others have layers to peel back with every listen. I want to get there some day and with that, I must practice. So here’s a poem, I wrote last month, that currently remains without a title.

You cannot put Vicks on my mental wounds
This may frighten you
There’s no drug store cure for the sickness that ails me
My mind and I battle for the same territory
And the victor often changes

Some days are easier than others
Some are filled with warm sun beams, good coffee, good laughs
Some days are harder
Filled with a darkened bedroom
In the fetal position, choking back tears

You cannot put Vicks on this
It is not going to be that easy
These bruises on my mind require special treatment
I don’t want you to fix me
I need to do this myself

Just hold my hand along the way
Make sure I don’t stay in the dark too long
Just love me from the sidelines
While I learn to love myself.
That’s all I can ask of you.
That’s all you can do.

For the last time: I Want to be a Literary Agent!

When I was younger, I wanted to be a lot of things: a doctor, an author, a journalist, a columnist, an event planner, and now I’ve finally settled on becoming a literary agent and author. Those are just the jobs I wanted that I can remember after so long. I am also fortunate enough to be a current intern at a prestigious literary agency, Writers House, and to have formerly interned at another incredible agency, Ayesha Pande Literary. These opportunities only further cemented my desire to get into pursuing a career as a Literary Agent or in the Foreign Rights department of a literary agency.

How did I realize I wanted to be a literary agent? When I attended the Columbia Publishing Course(CPC), I got to hear lectures from some famous publishing professionals and imagine myself in each department. One of the lectures that really caught my attention featured a panel of literary agents, a job I had never heard of before. There were so many of them and they all seemed to have crossed paths with one another. Some worked for smaller agencies while others worked for the more well-known agencies like ICM. Hearing the agents talk about their passion for the job and how their responsibilities to the author included being an editor, a therapist, and a cheerleader. It all sounded like what I wanted to be doing.

What do literary agents do? Literary agents work closely with their clients/authors as they develop their work and are the first step in the revising process. Once those revisions are complete, they write pitch letters to editors at various publishing houses to find someone who wants to purchase the book for publication! After that, the literary agent works as the authors advocate making sure that they understand what the next steps are, that the money is handled according to the contract, all that fun stuff.  For example, Jodi Reamer is Stephenie Meyer’s literary agent. TWILIGHT was submitted like millions of other manuscripts are a day, an intern was assigned to read it and decided that it had potential. It was passed along, Jodi read it, and e-mailed Stephenie offering to represent her as an agent. From there, Jodi and her team worked tirelessly to edit TWILIGHT until it was ready to be pitched to publishing houses. Some probably turned it down (regrettably now) but eventually Little, Brown and Company bought it. After that, TWILIGHT skyrocketed and eventually Jodi had film rights, translation rights, audio rights and the whole series. Now, Stephenie remains a client of Jodi’s so they work on all of Stephenie’s projects together and Jodi continues to take on new clients and represent other well-known authors like John Green and Ransom Riggs. [This is as concisely as I can begin to describe the field so forgive me, if it’s still vague.]

If you could become a literary agent instantly, what books would you like to represent? Honestly, there are so many types of books that I would want to represent so here goes: YA and MG fiction/nonfiction, Suspense novels in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train, Memoirs/Biographies about overcoming adversity, Fiction and nonfiction novels about mental health, survival, passion, Stories featuring diversity and/or a strong female lead, Titles heavily rooted in family, friends, plot twists and the varying forms of love. These are all over the place but over time, you come to learn what you love and I’m sure this list will continuously evolve.

Do you think this is the job that you will do for the rest of your life? I would like to think so. I love books, I love the publishing industry, I have interned in the field and still love it as much as I did the first time I learned about it, if not more. I’d like to say I would do this forever but who knows? I could always end up doing something completely different like screenwriting or maybe just keep my love for books to book reviews. The possibilities are endless but I am happy pursuing this now and we’ll see what happens next.

State of the Union

Hello all,
I went ghost again on you guys, I swear — it’s completely unintentional. Nonetheless, I really want to get back to blogging regularly. For now, let me give you some updates!

I am currently the subsidiary rights intern for the literary agency, Writers House, based out of NYC. WOOHOOO!  It is, sincerely, a dream come true. Writers House represents authors like Hank and John Green, Stephenie Meyer, Neil Gaiman, J.D. Robb, Nora Roberts, The Estate of Martin Luther King, and the Estate of Octavia Butler among others. I’ve only been interning for about 3, almost 4 weeks now. It’s everything I could have possibly dreamed of and more. I’m learning so much hands on and really bonding with the 16 other intelligent and lovely interns.

What else? I am currently a couch surfer. I don’t have an apartment so those three days a week that I spend interning in the city, I also spend at either a friend or relative’s house. I’m just trying to make due for the time being. I’m 24 years old, unemployed, interning at my dream company and that’s just the way things are for the time being. I’m hopeful that the unemployed portion of my life changes fairly soon but I’m taking it day by day.

I also wanted to make an announcement that although this blog is called, On The Deckled Edge in honor of my first and true love, books, I also want to use my blog as a platform to talk about other things in my daily life. I feel as though if I open my topics up apart from book reviews — I might be able to blog more regularly even if I’m not reading as often as I want. I have some ideas for upcoming topics but if you have any suggestions, feel free to comment and let me know what you would like to hear about from me.

‘Til next time. XOXO

You Are Not Mine. 

In honor of National Poetry Day, I’m going to share one of the poems that I’ve written recently.

You Are Not Mine by Samantha Fabien

You are not mine
Dark roast with a touch of cream
Rough around the edges
Milk chocolate eyes

You are not mine
Soft, tender lips that take the edge off your warm, calloused hands

You are not mine
I must remind myself as I laugh at your jokes and take in every visually dynamic angle of your smile

You are not mine
As outsiders intrude on the bubble we created for ourselves

You are not mine
As we welcome them into the circle, the conversation, the stories

You are not mine
But I shared parts of myself with you that others have never seen
I am a map and you seemed eager to explore my peaks and valleys

You are not mine
So when we said goodbye but not properly and I felt my brain yelling, “Hurry up! This is your last chance before it’s too late!”

I said, “you are not mine”
And pretending, even for a moment, that you were was a lie